Faux Pas!!!

I committed a very, very, very embarrassing and humiliating mistake, something to do with the word TRIVIAL. And something to do with DFA dignitaries. And my classmates particularly Downybearded and company just wouldn’t stop rubbing it in: “TRIVIAL, TRIVIAL, TRIVIAL!” Can I disappear now and never return? Aaaargh! Faux pas, faux pas, faux pas!

I realize this is actually one of my weaknesses: not being able to cope with embarrassing situations. I find myself plugging my ears with my fingers and shouting “lalalalalala” to block out all thought of that disastrous comment everytime they would deliberately remind me of that moment… and if that doesn’t work, I resort to some very physical measures to stop them (punching and stabbing them with my pen)… which turned out to be futile.

And when the memory resurfaces to my head at any random moment, I find myself involuntarily ejaculating a swear word loudly, or else any random word that pops in my head at the moment (“QUINTESSENTIAL!”), which earns me contemptuous looks from people beside me (like what just happened this evening in the FX I was riding home). I guess it’s a psychological mechanism to block out unwanted memories or thoughts. It works, apparently (with unwanted external results).

Sigh. Faux pas. Faux pas. Faux pas.

2 thoughts on “Faux Pas!!!

Leave a comment